The Midnight Society Blog Tour and Giveaway – Rhonda Sermon

14087747_10101885523402893_1697627476_o.png

The Midnight Society

by Rhonda Sermon

 

14088876_10101885523492713_231055972_n

“Witness protection has a protocol for every imaginable situationthe unimaginable has happened.”

Fifteen-year-old Cate’s life has been monitored since her new identity was created five years ago. She’s spent countless hours learning how to deal with potential threats and dangerous situations. None of which is any use when everyone around her is suddenly frozen like statues one afternoon.

As she attempts to make sense of the frightening scene, a mysterious group of teenagers appears out of thin air. They are intrigued she’s not affected, but focus on completing their mission, using baffling powers before they vanish again.

Terrified, but desperate not to be relocated again Cate tells no one and sets a catastrophic chain of events in motion. When the group seeks her out the next day, she discovers a brutal realm filled with wizards, zombies and the occasional shapeshifter who travel through time manipulating history. A centuries-old battle between two mortal enemies in this clandestine world puts Cate’s loved ones in danger.

When her brother disappears, a panicked Cate is forced into the dangerous realm where she must risk her life to search for him. There she is faced with an unimaginable decision. Will she risk destroying innocent lives and the world as she knows it to save the ones she loves?

This YA novel is for readers aged 13 and up and will have a large cross over market and appeal to adults.

A combination of The Mortal Instruments meets Back to the Future with just a sprinkle of The Hunger Games it will appeal to fans of Cassandra Clare and Suzanne Collin in addition to lovers of Science Fiction and Time Travel books.

14123344_10101885523462773_2081835669_o

Author Bio

Rhonda was born and raised in a small country town in Western Australia surrounded by the most beautiful beaches in the world, although sadly the weather provided more rainy days than sunny.

After high school she headed to the city and after four years studying at University, which was completely free back then, she studied a little more and set off with her Chartered Accountant Certificate under her arm to travel the world doing all things financial, which she found fun and interesting. Please don’t hold that against her. To this day she remains pretty much all travelled out, which many people find incomprehensible.

One evening, shortly after the arrival of her second child she announced to her very understanding and supportive husband, her decision to swap spreadsheets and numbers for chapters and prose. This was followed by the bold and impossibly naive statement she was going to write a book. And just like that she was hooked.

At an age well over 21 she found something she was passionate about and truly loved. That first novel still sits on her computer – cringe worthy to the trained eye, but a reminder of not only how far she has come, but also to never be afraid to try something new.

Working from home can be very distracting, with the television, free WiFi, two very entertaining ragdoll cats and a multitude of things to clean and organize. That is Rhonda’s excuse for writing in coffee shops. When she isn’t writing, her time is spent playing taxi to her children, making school lunches and planning what to cook for dinner. An unfortunate accident in her first Tae Kwon Do class which resulted in six weeks immobile in plaster, followed by six months of rehabilitation now has her committed to watching her children in their Tae Kwon Do classes to research new fight moves for her characters.

On the good days, she adores writing, on the challenging days, it’s still awesome.

Her debut novel The Midnight Society was a finalist in the Young Adult category and overall runner up in The Strongest Start 2012 Contest hosted by TheNextBigWriter.com.

Rhonda now lives in Perth, Western Australia with her husband and two children. Her two ragdoll cats can often be found helpfully walking over her keyboard, chasing her mouse or generally complaining loudly about the lack of priority their needs are given

Excerpt!

“I brought a dead cheerleader back to life,” she blurted.

Naitanui’s luminous yellow eyes widened.

“I probably would have gone with ‘hello’ to break the ice. But that was definitely another option,” Austin said.

“Where am I?” Cate demanded.

“You’re outside the Break,” Austin said.

“You could have killed her.” Naitanui gave Austin a look Cate was all too familiar with. Her mother used it often. It came with an ‘I’ll deal with you later’ clause.

“But I didn’t. We found her. I couldn’t risk her vanishing.”

“Inside.” Naitanui stepped backwards through the cascading water.

“Huh?” Cate pulled back, digging her heels into the ground and crossing her arms. The water didn’t splash on Naitanui’s head. He had passed through the waterfall, leaving it undisturbed. Until Austin did some explaining, she wasn’t going to take a step further.

“Have it your way.” Austin bent and grabbed her behind the knees, then slung her over his shoulder.

“Put me down.” She pounded on his back with her fists. Unperturbed, he strode toward where Naitanui had disappeared. A shudder ran through her, and before she knew it, the waterfall was behind them. They’d walked straight through and arrived dry on the other side. She stretched to touch the water, and her fingers glided through nothing. Another shudder ran up her arm, yet it remained dry.

“It’s a glamour.” Austin set her down. “More magic.” He strolled farther into the cave, heading for an opening in the rock wall. The slightest hint of light filtered through the gap.

She looked from Austin to the waterfall, deliberating whether to run away or follow.

“You can’t go back to two thousand and fourteen without me. Come and learn about time travel.” Austin ducked through the archway. “You demanded I bring you here for answers, so man up and come get them.”

Little puffs of red dirt rose as she marched after him. Time travel. What the hell?

Purchase links

  • PURCHASE LINKS

The Midnight Society is available worldwide in ebook, paperback and hardback from your favourite online retailer. The ebook is exclusive to Amazon and Free on Kindle Unlimited. Purchase sites include:

Amazon : https://amzn.com/B01EO2CBUG

Barnes & Noble : http://bit.ly/TMSbn

Book Depository: http://bit.ly/TMSBookdep

It is also available from bookstores throughout Australian, United States, Canada and United Kingdom.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You are using the BNS Add Widget plugin. Thank You!